Freedom Forever was one of the largest home solar installers in the United States. It is now being liquidated. If it installed your system, or took a deposit for one it never built, this guide covers what happened, the claim deadline, and what to do about warranties, loans, leases and unfinished jobs.
What happened
- April 15, 2026: Freedom Forever filed for Chapter 11 protection in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware, aiming to sell the business or reorganize.
- Spring and summer 2026: the company ran a sale process, seeking either a buyer for its assets or a sponsor for a reorganization plan. No deal went through.
- August 7, 2026: without a buyer and without money to keep operating, the case was converted to a Chapter 7 liquidation. Alfred T. Giuliano was appointed trustee to sell what remains and pay creditors.
- September 22, 2026: meeting of creditors.
- October 16, 2026: deadline to file a proof of claim (now passed).
These dates come from the court schedule as reported by pv magazine USA. A Chapter 7 case doesn’t reorganize a company: it shuts it down. Don’t expect Freedom Forever to come back to finish work or honor its own warranties.
How many homes are affected
In the public installation records compiled by Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Tracking the Sun), together with New York and New Jersey’s program records, Freedom Forever installed 66,401 home solar systems. Those records only name the installer in some states, so the real total is higher.
| State | Freedom Forever home systems on record |
|---|---|
| California | 39,181 |
| Arizona | 19,182 |
| New Jersey | 2,572 |
| Texas | 2,541 |
| Massachusetts | 1,671 |
City permit records show it was also active until very recently in cities the installation records don’t cover: it pulled 1,802 residential solar permits in Las Vegas since 2019, 292 in Chicago, 235 in Seattle and 131 in Philadelphia, some of them in 2026.
The cities with the most Freedom Forever systems on record include San Antonio (2,264), Las Vegas (1,802 permits), Phoenix (1,754), Fresno (1,345), Yuma (1,266), Bakersfield (999), Mesa (953) and Stockton (947). Each of our city pages, such as Phoenix or Las Vegas, lists Freedom Forever among the installers that closed and ranks the local companies still active.
Freedom Forever sold both ways: in 2023–2025, about two in three of its systems were leased or on a power purchase agreement and the rest were bought. When homeowners bought, they paid a median of $4.90 per watt before incentives, about 15% more than the $4.25 median of other installers in the same records. Which kind of customer you are decides most of what happens next.
Freedom Forever by the numbers
Freedom Forever grew very fast. In the records, it installed about 1,900 home systems in 2018, 6,100 in 2020 and 14,800 in 2023, nearly eight times as many in five years. It then fell to about 8,900 in 2024 and 7,600 in 2025 (some 2025 records are still missing). Its customers and prices varied by state:
| State | Home systems, 2023–2025 | Leased or PPA | Median price, owned | Other installers in the state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | 18,731 | 66% | $5.05/W | $4.25/W |
| Arizona | 8,207 | 60% | $4.59/W | $3.93/W |
| Texas | 1,589 | not reported | $3.78/W | $3.76/W |
| New Jersey | 1,571 | 73% | not reported | not reported |
In California, its largest market, homeowners who bought from Freedom Forever paid a median of about 19% more per watt than the rest of the market, and in Arizona about 17% more. In Texas its prices were close to other installers’, on a small sample. Prices are before incentives; where a state’s records don’t include leasing or prices, the cell says so. Arizona and Texas records for 2025 are still incomplete.
If you bought your system (cash or loan)
Your equipment warranties are intact. Panels, inverters and batteries are warranted by their manufacturers, not by Freedom Forever. Identify the brands (the inverter label, your monitoring app or your contract) and contact the manufacturer directly if something fails. Keep your contract, invoice and the serial numbers.
The workmanship warranty is effectively gone. Freedom Forever’s promise to fix installation defects and roof leaks was a promise from the company, and the company is being liquidated. Warranty claims could be filed in the bankruptcy until October 16, 2026, and unsecured claims in a Chapter 7 case usually recover little or nothing.
If you have a loan, keep paying. The loan is a separate contract with the lender (GoodLeap, EverBright and others). Missing payments hurts your credit and doesn’t hurt the bankrupt installer.
If you lease the system or pay under a PPA
Your contract is with the financing company that owns the system, not with Freedom Forever. That company remains responsible for the system under the terms of the contract, including repairs in most agreements. Call the company you pay each month, confirm in writing who will service the system now, and keep paying.
If your installation was never finished
This is the hardest situation, and the one the court addressed directly. According to pv magazine USA, the court authorized seven financing companies, Credit Human, EnFin, EverBright, GoodLeap, Participate, Project Solar and Sunrun, to resume and complete stranded installations. GoodLeap received explicit permission to take physical possession of projects to finish them.
What to do:
- Call your lender or financing company first. If your project was financed, it has a strong interest in getting it finished and connected.
- Document the state of the job: photos of anything installed, permits (your city or county can tell you whether a permit was pulled and its status), and every payment.
- Don’t sign a new contract with a “rescue” company under pressure. Get the completion price in writing and compare it with what is left on your original contract.
- If you paid a deposit for work never started, the way to recover it was a proof of claim by October 16, 2026. If you filed one, keep a copy and watch for notices from the trustee.
How to file a proof of claim
A proof of claim is the form that tells the court and the trustee what the company owes you. Claims in this case are filed with the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware; the court’s claims information page explains the process and the official form (Form 410). Include:
- Your contract and any change orders.
- Proof of every payment (deposit, progress payments).
- For a warranty claim, a description of the defect with photos and any repair quotes.
The deadline reported for this case was October 16, 2026, and it has passed. Late claims are usually not paid; if you missed it, a bankruptcy attorney can tell you whether any exception applies. If you filed, keep your copy and watch for notices from the trustee about payments to creditors.
What to do, and when
Now
- Find your contract, the payment records and, if you have them, the permit number and the equipment list.
- Check the inverter and your monitoring app to confirm the system is producing.
- If you have a loan or lease, call the financing company and confirm who you pay and who services the system now.
If Freedom Forever owes you money
- The claim deadline was October 16, 2026. If you filed a proof of claim, keep it with your solar paperwork and watch for the trustee’s notices.
- If your installation was never finished, get your financing company’s plan for completing it in writing.
Afterwards
- Register your equipment warranties with the manufacturers if you haven’t already, using the serial numbers.
- Choose a local company to service the system, and keep its contact details with your solar paperwork.
Finding someone to service your system
Most established installers will work on a system they didn’t install, though not all will, and they typically charge a diagnostic visit. On our city pages you can see which companies are still actively installing in your city according to the latest records. When you call, ask:
- Do you service the inverter brand I have (Enphase, SolarEdge, Tesla or others)?
- What does a diagnostic visit cost?
- Will you file the manufacturer warranty claim for me?
- If panels have to come off, do you warranty the new roof penetrations against leaks?
Before calling anyone, it is worth doing the basic checks yourself; our troubleshooting guide covers the breaker, the inverter display and what the monitoring app can tell you.
Why it matters beyond Freedom Forever
Freedom Forever joins a long list of large installers that failed in the past few years, including SunPower, Titan Solar, Sunnova and PosiGen. Our list of solar companies that went out of business counts more than 420,000 home systems in the public records whose installer no longer exists. When you compare installers today, look at how long a company has been installing in your area and whether it still appears in recent records, not just at the price and the size of its sales team.
Sources
- pv magazine USA, Freedom Forever bankruptcy converted to Chapter 7 liquidation, key dates set, September 9, 2026.
- U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware, claims information.
- Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Tracking the Sun, 2026 edition, records through 2025; NYSERDA and New Jersey’s Clean Energy Program project records; building permit records of Las Vegas, Chicago, Seattle and Philadelphia. Counts by Solar Power Fix.
This article explains a public bankruptcy case in general terms; it isn’t legal advice. For your specific contract, talk to a consumer attorney or your state attorney general’s consumer protection office.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Freedom Forever out of business?
Freedom Forever filed for Chapter 11 on April 15, 2026. After a sale of the business fell through, the case was converted to a Chapter 7 liquidation on August 7, 2026, and a trustee, Alfred T. Giuliano, was appointed to wind down the company and sell its remaining assets.
What is the deadline to file a claim against Freedom Forever?
The deadline to file a proof of claim in the Chapter 7 case was October 16, 2026, according to pv magazine USA's report on the court's schedule, and it has passed. Late claims are usually not paid. If you missed it, a bankruptcy attorney can tell you whether any exception applies to your situation.
Is my Freedom Forever solar warranty still valid?
Panel, inverter and battery warranties come from the manufacturers (for example Qcells, Enphase, SolarEdge or Tesla) and remain in force. Freedom Forever's own workmanship warranty, which covered installation defects and roof leaks, is effectively gone. Warranty claims could be filed in the bankruptcy case until the October 16, 2026 deadline.
Do I still have to pay my loan if Freedom Forever didn't finish my installation?
The loan is with the lender, not Freedom Forever, so it stays in force. Contact your lender right away. The bankruptcy court authorized several financing companies, including GoodLeap, EverBright, EnFin, Credit Human, Participate, Project Solar and Sunrun, to resume and complete stranded installations.